Nalcor Energy > About > Leadership Team

As Nalcor Energy focuses on growth and excellence, the vision and leadership of our experienced leadership team provides strength and direction for the company.

Stan Marshall was named President and CEO, Nalcor Energy in April 2016. Previous to his time at Nalcor, he served as President and CEO and Director of the Board of Directors of Fortis.

Stan has held many senior executive positions throughout his career. His time with Fortis spanned 35 years and he was at the helm as President and CEO for more than 18 years.

Stan served as the Chairman of FortisBC Holdings Inc. (formerly, Terasen Inc.). He was a Director of Fortis Properties Corporation as well as a Director at FortisAlberta Inc., and FortisBC Inc. He has been Independent Director at Enerflex Ltd. since 2011 and he is Chair of its Human Resource Committee. He served as the Chief Executive Officer of Fortis Inc., Chairman of Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp., Independent Director of Toromont Industries Ltd., Director of the Conference Board of Canada, Director of Maritime Electric Company, Limited, FortisOntario Inc., Belize Electricity Limited and also held Director roles with CH Energy Group and Caribbean Utilities Co. Ltd. Stan also served as the President at Fortis Turks and Caicos and was the Chief Operating Officer of Fortis Inc. He joined Newfoundland Power Inc., in 1979.

He is a retired member in good standing of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador and retired member in good standing of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists Newfoundland and Labrador. Mr. Marshall holds a Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Waterloo and Bachelor of Law from Dalhousie University.

Gilbert Bennett joined Nalcor in May 2005 as Vice President, Lower Churchill Project. In his role as Executive Vice President, Power Development, Gilbert is responsible for the development and completion of the 824 megawatt Muskrat Falls hydroelectric facility in Labrador.

Gilbert is a former Vice President of 360networks Canada, and has served in a number of senior engineering and operations roles in the telecommunications sector. He has a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland, is a member of the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of NL, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Hydropower Association. Gilbert is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

In February 2019, Jim Haynes was named Executive Vice President, Power Supply, Nalcor Energy. Jim is responsible for the completion of the transmission portion of the Muskrat Falls project and integration to the now inter-connected electricity grid.

Jim began his career with Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro in 1977. He previously held the position of Vice President, Regulated Operations as well as Vice President, Production before being appointed as President of Hydro. Throughout his lengthy career he also held a variety of other positions throughout the corporation including Manager of Transmission Planning and General Manager, Churchill Falls.

Jim is a member of the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. A graduate of Memorial University of Newfoundland, Jim completed a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering.

In his role as Executive Vice-President, Corporate Services and Chief Human Resources Officer, Mike Roberts is responsible for Nalcor’s Safety, Environment, Human Resources and Labour Relations portfolios as well as Internal Audit, Corporate Affairs & Shareholder Relations and organizational effectiveness.

Mike joined Nalcor in 2007 where he was responsible for providing leadership in all areas of Human Resources. In 2010, he assumed additional accountability for Labour Relations and since that time has shepherded Nalcor through three rounds of collective bargaining and the finalization of five collective agreements.

Mike is a former Director of Human Resources and Operations in the private sector in both the information technology and contact center industries where he lead transformation change, played key roles in mergers and acquisitions, and provided customer service to Fortune 500 companies.

He is a graduate of Memorial University’s Faculty of Business with both Commerce (Co-op) and Master’s degrees in Business Administration. He has also received accreditation from Queen’s University in the area of Labour Relations and is a graduate of the Leadership Program at the Ivey School of Business at Western University.

In his role as Senior Vice-President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary for Nalcor Energy, Peter is responsible for the provision of Legal and Corporate Secretarial services for Nalcor. He also oversees the Corporation’s Access to Information and Protection of Privacy function.

A graduate from the Bachelor of Arts program at Memorial University, Peter went on to earn his Bachelor of Laws Degree from Dalhousie University. He has been a member of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador since 1986. Peter joined Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro in 1987 in the capacity of Assistant Corporate Secretary and Legal Counsel. Since that time he has progressively taken on increased leadership roles within the Legal and Corporate Secretarial areas of NLH and Nalcor.

Senior Vice-President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary

Prior to being appointed President of Hydro in February 2019, Jennifer had served as Hydro’s Vice President, Production, since August 2016.  Earlier positions include General Manager, Hydro Production, as well as Manager, Regulatory Engineering. Jennifer joined our team in 2014, having previously worked with both Newfoundland Power and the St. John’s International Airport Authority. A Memorial University graduate, Jennifer has a Bachelor of Civil Engineering and is a member and former member of the Board of Directors of the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL). Jennifer was awarded the Fellow of Engineers Canada in 2016 and was elected as a Fellow to the Canadian Academy of Engineering in 2020.

For more information on the full Hydro Leadership Team please click here.